Melissa Brown – The Compound Series Reading Order

by Maryse on January 3, 2018 · 1 comment

in Reading Order Guide:

I LOVE this premise!! I’ve always loved to read stories and watch movies about people raised (and/or) still living in cults and how much their lives differ from ours, and here is an entire series, just for us!!

Malin: The Compound series by Melissa Brown. A six star series.

Rachel: I liked Wife Number Seven. It was a really interesting look into that kind of lifestyle. I would’ve liked more of a look and less of the other stuff that went on, but what can I say, I’m a voyeur at heart.

Heather: I just read the box set! Amazing!

About book #1:

Lipstick. Bright, red lipstick. Nothing but lipstick.
Even though it’s against our faith to wear a color that screams of sexual promiscuity and deviant behavior, I’m not allowed to protest.
But, I want to.
So badly.

You see, there’s more to me than the braid that spills down my back.
More to me than the layers of heavy fabric that maintain my modesty.
And so much more than the oppressive wedding band that adorns my finger–the same band that each of my sister wives wear.
So much more.
To protest would be sinful.
I must keep sweet, that is my duty.

So I’ll wear the lipstick. I’ll do as I’m told.
And I’ll do my best to silence the resistance within me, to push him from my mind.
If only my heart would do the same.


Sign up for my weekly newsletter

{ 1 comment… read it below or add one }

Leslie M January 4, 2018 at 2:36 PM

Thank goodness for Goodreads because I would have never remembered I read this in 2014.

Leave a Comment


Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: