Book Review – Flesh by Kylie Scott + A Book Giveaway!

by Maryse on October 25, 2012 · 84 comments

in My Book Reviews

Flesh
Flesh in every sense of the word. A fast, fun, and occasionally frenzy-inducing read, but what made this one click for me, was the intense personal connection. Especially in the beginning. In fact, I “felt” it so quickly, that I let y’all know in a pre-review that I was really enjoying this one, and I already knew “Flesh” was worthy of recommending. It captured me right from the start, and Daniel did not disappoint.

This is a bit of what I was hoping (am still hoping?) that I might see on “Walking Dead”. And while I love that show, it’s missing a bit of that romantic edge. The romance is hinted at, but doesn’t quite satiate my need for romantic relief in a time of absolute desolation.

Zombie/romance lovers, rejoice! This book explores that angle in detail, and indulges the reader in the initial fear response/tentative trust/attraction and possibility of love (even if some of that attraction was super-quick. It made sense, in this world, and I believed it). And that’s not all it explores. ‘Cause there’s another “good guy” that comes into play, and I’ll be darned if he doesn’t make a whole lot of sense, too. Daniel and Finn. *swoon* How lucky is Ali to be surrounded by these two gorgeous alpha-men. What is a girl to do? *sigh* Ohhhhh the drama. ;) So good! And so many of my fellow readers agreed:

Debra: I’ve read it too! I loved it. The first chapter really draws you in. I never knew Zombies and Sex could be so amazing! I think I found a new favorite author.

Maryse’s Book Blog: I was thinking the same thing. As soon as I’m done this one, I’m searching out her others.

Paula: I loved this book! Can there be a zombie apocalypse please?

Emma: Yes, such an enjoyable read. Daniel and Finn are just so…. you know… *yummy*

Tiffany: Cant wait for more Zombie filled Love stories from this Author!! Love that the Love Triangle is a LOVE Triangle..;)

Maryse’s Book Blog: LOVE YES!!! Exactly Tiffany. I can FEEL it.

Kerri: Omg I finished this last week and loved it. Wish there were more. Walking Dead fans will enjoy this.

Kristina: Enjoyed this a lot also & only .99. Can’t beat that :)

Susan: I’m 58% thru and love it.

Kristin: I loved this book

Tracie: Loved, Loved, Loved this book !

Sheila: I am not usually a fan of the threesome/love triangle thing but this sounds really interesting. Do you think I should give it a try or pass?

Maggie: Sheila, for what it’s worth, I’m generally not a fan either but I thought this was done well and I really enjoyed it.

So what’s this one about? Well, it’s kind of obvious, but still I’ll go into it a bit. Zombies are roaming the streets, hungry, and so many have perished (and/or have “turned”). Ali has been hiding in an oven-like attic for a month, waiting it out. And when she leaves her somewhat safe (yet deplorable) sanctuary to scavenge for supplies, she runs into Daniel, who is BEYOND thrilled to see her. And despite her acute struggles to lose him, he latches on and won’t let go. Literally. Hehe. He’s sooooooo cute! *LOVE!*  He messes up her her plans but she relents, and slowly lets her guard down.

However neither one of them are truly equipped to handle the new world as it is, and while they seem to be able to evade zombies well enough, Daniel realizes he’s got his work cut out for him, protecting the very valuable “woman” that is now in his care. And deeply embedded in his heart. Troubles abound but no worries. There is plenty of… downtime.

This one focused on the love and *ahem* more. ;) Front row and center. But it’s not just that. It’s all about human connection in a disasterous time where the humans are scarce, and the ones you do encounter might be even more dangerous than the zombies themselves.

Civilization was gone. Law and order a distant memory. Who knew what people would do now that the rules did not apply.

It can get serious. The contemplative moments can be somber, but not so serious that it gets depressing. It’s more “fun” than bleak (as crazy as that sounds), and Daniel really helps us out in that aspect. But, it does have it’s moments. After all, there is a story here, and the zombies aren’t the only trouble they encounter.

Apparently , the plague had been cooked up in a lab somewhere in Asia. No one would admit to exactly where. How it escaped had become another mystery, but it went global in days.

If you like “Walking Dead” or any of the more realistic (if you can call a zombie apocalypse “realistic”) zombie movies, then this is for you! AND if you like steamy romance (or let’s go a little further and call it erotica), in a crazy dystopian reality, then this is for you! And even if you don’t like zombies, or dystopian, but like erotica (and a potential love triangle), this’ll be for you, too! The zombies make their appearance (but of course!!). Danger lurks at every corner, but it is the interesting look into social demise, and search for human connection, that has the reader truly bonding with the “good guys”.

“Humans are social creatures. I didn’t realize how much until nearly everyone was gone.”

And boy do we bond. *blush* Tee hee!!!!

4 stars!!

Now for the giveaway! When the author found out I was reading her book, she offered to give away TWO of these e-books.

Hi Maryse, so glad you’re enjoying Flesh! If you’d like to run a comp to give away … just let me know the winners emails…  a couple of epub versions, absolutely.

How to enter for a chance to win one? Just leave a comment below, I will end the “contest” at 9pm EST tomorrow night (Friday October 26th 2012), and I will contact TWO winners (randomly selected) by email to confirm your email address. The winner will be contacted and the email address provided will be sent to the author so she may in turn, send you your e-book (make sure your email is valid!!). NOTE: The “winner” will have 48 hours to respond to the winning email notification. If no response is received, I will randomly select another winner. Make sure to check your email, so you do not loose your chance. This is open to anyone that can receive an epub version of this book.

Check out the —-> Flesh Series Reading Order

 

Get Free Email Updates from me :)

{ 84 comments… read them below or add one }

Brandy R October 25, 2012 at 7:10 PM

Ohhh sounds interesting nothing I have read sounds like it. Will be adding this to my list :)

Kat October 25, 2012 at 7:12 PM

Sounds like a great read would be awesome to win a copy. If not i will def check this book out. Thanks again for all your hard work

Mackenze October 25, 2012 at 7:13 PM

Will have to add this to my TBR list!

Lise October 25, 2012 at 7:14 PM

This is one of your best reviews, IMO. Really captured the heart of the story in this crazy dystopian world where survival is key and love comes in crazy, wild and *fleshy* ways.

Bonnie October 25, 2012 at 7:15 PM

This sounds amazing! Looking forward to reading it!

Tricia Smith October 25, 2012 at 7:15 PM

Book sounds great! I have it on my Nook…..Will have to read it soon! :D

Michelle October 25, 2012 at 7:17 PM

Going to read this next ;)

Beth demoruelle October 25, 2012 at 7:24 PM

Ooo can’t wait to read it!

Melanie October 25, 2012 at 7:27 PM

I’ve never really been interested in the Zombie angle, however, your review has peaked my interest. I will add it to my TBR least.

Melanie October 25, 2012 at 7:28 PM

correction” list lol

Michelle October 25, 2012 at 7:35 PM

Looks interesting. Would love to win a copy

Jennifer October 25, 2012 at 7:35 PM

Very interesting read!

Angie H. October 25, 2012 at 7:37 PM

A dystopian/paranormal erotic romance that includes zombies, huh? Only you, Maryse, could convince me that this is gonna be good ;)

Ang October 25, 2012 at 7:41 PM

I just started to really watch The Walking Dead, . . . So now, I have to have that book!!!! :D

Maryse October 25, 2012 at 7:41 PM

hehe. *grins*

Nikki A. October 25, 2012 at 7:43 PM

I will have to add this one to my list. Maybe I will win a copy. :)

Stacy C. October 25, 2012 at 7:52 PM

I would love to read this!!! I’ve been stalking it on Amazon but was still unsure. Now I know it’s a must read!!! Thank you so much for the review and giveaway!

Nicoleta Dumbrava October 25, 2012 at 7:55 PM

Love, love, love the cover of this book.
Pick me:-)

Nicoleta D.

Lauryn October 25, 2012 at 7:57 PM

this book sounds great!

Dawn October 25, 2012 at 7:57 PM

Wow, I can’t wait to read this one! Sounds right up my alley!

Nicole October 25, 2012 at 8:02 PM

This book sounds fantastic! I love the cover too!

Su P. October 25, 2012 at 8:04 PM

I’m adding this to my list of “must reads”!
Zombies and romance…..sounds like my
kind of book. Can’t wait to read it!

Kelli October 25, 2012 at 8:09 PM

OMG!!!! Loved this book spool much!! I hope there’s a sequel!!

Kelli October 25, 2012 at 8:11 PM

* soooo not spool

Sali Benbow-powers October 25, 2012 at 8:11 PM

Ok you had me at erotic & zombies baaahaaaa ……….ok those are to words I never thought I would use in the same sentence lmao

I WANT TO WIN A COPY !!!! :)

Confirm email : salipow@hotmail.com

Dark Butterfly October 25, 2012 at 8:13 PM

I love giveaways. It’s a good way to find out about new authors. Good way for the authors to promote themselves and their books.

Zulma October 25, 2012 at 8:14 PM

Sounds great can’t wait to read it

Trisha R October 25, 2012 at 8:14 PM

It sounds fabulous! I am totally adding this to my TBR list. :D

Maria Malaveci October 25, 2012 at 8:19 PM

Sounds like something I would love to read! Count me in Maryse!

SaraP. October 25, 2012 at 8:26 PM

oooohh!!! Adding to my list!!! :-) thanks

Betty October 25, 2012 at 8:28 PM

sounds great, will have to add it to my TBR list. Would love to win a copy :)

Julie October 25, 2012 at 8:43 PM

Can’t wait to discover this one ! :)

Linda October 25, 2012 at 8:47 PM

Sounds like a great book!! I would LOVE to win it!! Thanks :)

Deb October 25, 2012 at 8:57 PM

Would love to read this new type of book- zombies! Great opportunity to discover a new book!

Edyta October 25, 2012 at 9:09 PM

For the longest time my brother tried to get me to watch the Walking Dead but I was never a fan of zombies. But I decided to humor my brother and watched season one and was HOOKED! I finished watching season two on Netflix just in time to enjoy season three ^^

This book sounds interesting and had caught my attention. I’d love to read it

Melissa O. October 25, 2012 at 9:15 PM

Maybe this book will change my mind about zombies books…I really need a new addiction!

Stephanie October 25, 2012 at 9:24 PM

Just finished watching Walking Dead and I love that show! This book sounds right up my ally!!!! I just finished Butterfly Weeds……what to read next??? Always the question!!!!!

AWallace October 25, 2012 at 9:28 PM

Would love to check this out!

LucyLou October 25, 2012 at 9:29 PM

Looking forward to reading this story. Although I have already bought this ebook, Christmas is coming up. This would be a great stuffing stocker for a friend. :)

Kristy S October 25, 2012 at 9:35 PM

Sounds like a great book! Adding to by TBR list…

Anne Marie October 25, 2012 at 9:37 PM

Sounds really good! I’m going to have to add it to my TBR list. :)

katrina October 25, 2012 at 9:50 PM

sounds like a great book would love to read it ;)

BrittB October 25, 2012 at 10:29 PM

Maryse I’m officially addicted to your blog. You and Goodreads are my official websites for book recommendations! I’d LOVE to check this one out!

Kellie October 25, 2012 at 10:44 PM

Zombies and two heroes…oh my!

Kelli October 25, 2012 at 10:58 PM

Lots of Kelli’s on this post. I am in for the freebie please…

amber williams October 26, 2012 at 12:27 AM

That looks like a really good book. I would love to have it for vacation next week. Something to read while my husband is at a conference.

Brandi F October 26, 2012 at 5:06 AM

I’ve heard good thinks about this book! Would love to read it :)

Brenna October 26, 2012 at 5:10 AM

Sounds good!!!

Nicole October 26, 2012 at 5:15 AM

Was not sure to get the book at first since I am not to keen about the zombie stuff but then with all the rave reviews and Maryse seems to love the book so much, I will just have to give it a shot.

kaci October 26, 2012 at 5:32 AM

Sounds great! Can’t wait to read it! :)

Dany October 26, 2012 at 5:54 AM

This sounds good, added to my ever growing TBR list. X

Eunice K. October 26, 2012 at 6:00 AM

This sounds totally up my alley! Can’t wait to get my hands on it.

Erin M. October 26, 2012 at 6:00 AM

Yay for zombies and love!!!!

Jen October 26, 2012 at 6:10 AM

Zombies & Romance! Cool!

Shantea October 26, 2012 at 7:20 AM

Sounds great! How could you not love zombies and romance? Ill have to buy it if I don’t win! (:

Brandy Bell October 26, 2012 at 7:22 AM

Sounds like a great book! Can’t wait!

Jennifer Brashier October 26, 2012 at 8:02 AM

I would love to win a copy! I don’t usually care for zombies, but I always love everyone of your recommendations. Thanks Maryse.

Amy R October 26, 2012 at 8:03 AM

This book sounds great! I cant wait to read it and would love to win a copy. Thanks for the giveaway!

Karen October 26, 2012 at 8:36 AM

First you had me hooked on vampires, then rock stars, now zombies? Lead away! lol Thanks for the chance to win

Kyle October 26, 2012 at 8:39 AM

Looks like a great book!!! I will have to read it!

Jenn October 26, 2012 at 8:41 AM

Oh sounds like a great book. Can’t wait to read it.

Diane October 26, 2012 at 8:57 AM

Oooh, a new genre to look forward to. I haven’t read any zombie books. Would love to win one.

stephanie v. October 26, 2012 at 9:05 AM

wow. this book sounds great!

Kim Brown October 26, 2012 at 9:12 AM

Hmmm…..I might just give this book a shot. For me and Walking Dead, the thought of any of them hooking up….yuck. Lori and her pregnancy “acting” really suck.

Nicole October 26, 2012 at 9:13 AM

Sounds like a great book, even if I don’t win, it’s going on my to read list!! :D

Jen October 26, 2012 at 9:40 AM

Sounds interesting… Adding to my TBR list.

Sarah October 26, 2012 at 9:46 AM

Added to my to be read list :)

Bojana October 26, 2012 at 10:12 AM

Loved the book review. I’ve never read any zombie books but this one sounds really good. Thanks to you and Kylie for offering the giveaway!

Stephanie D October 26, 2012 at 10:23 AM

Oh my…..a chance to win a free e-book of Flesh!!! That sounds amazing! Crossing my finger, toes and whatever else…..lol

Leanne October 26, 2012 at 10:25 AM

I haven’t yet crossed over to the “zombie” world yet, but this makes me want to!!! =)

Brianna Lee Book Reviews October 26, 2012 at 10:25 AM

Another great giveaway! Thanks Maryse, you spoil us! =D I would love to win this book! It is definitely going on my TBR list! Thanks again

Annie October 26, 2012 at 11:34 AM

Thanks Maryse, for yet again another great review. I think I have a big enough TBR list to last me a year. The hardest thing is to choose which awesome book I’m going to read next!

Tessa October 26, 2012 at 12:04 PM

Sounds interesting! Definitely going on my TBR list!

BethW October 26, 2012 at 12:19 PM

Okay – ya got me. I read your whole review – and, I would normally skirt around a book like this – now you have me wanting to find out more. Perfect!

Susana Dorado October 26, 2012 at 12:21 PM

Sounds a like great book…would love to read…

Monica Jenista October 26, 2012 at 12:50 PM

This is a book I would likely not have added to my TBR list; however, your review has piqued my interest. Really appreciate your details!

Karen October 26, 2012 at 1:01 PM

Just finished this last night! Great read!

Jeannie Smith October 26, 2012 at 1:03 PM

Now I will have to try it! I don’t mind the Zombie world, as long as they aren’t the love interest!

jamie burch October 26, 2012 at 1:15 PM

I’m always on the lookout for giveaways and freebies. It’s a good way to learn about new authors.

Heather October 26, 2012 at 1:45 PM

Oooh I love walking dead. I will have to read this one

Jen P October 26, 2012 at 2:36 PM

Add me in…sounds like it might be a good one…adding to my TBR

angie October 26, 2012 at 10:41 PM

I was hooked when I started the book…..soooo good.

Maggie October 27, 2012 at 1:41 PM

Count me out for the giveaway but I just had to say that I loved this book! I liked it from the get go and it sure ended with a bang! ;*)

Nicole October 29, 2012 at 11:46 AM

I could not put this book down. I loved the action from the very first page! Very steamy! LOVED Dan and Finn, well….esspecially Finn. GREAT book, a must read!

Leave a Comment

 

Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: